13/05/2021   Podebrady (CZE): the European Race Walking Team Championships




(From European Athletics web-site)


The final entries for the European Race Walking Team Championships in Podebrady, Czech Republic on 16 May have been published and can be found clickinn on ther bottom link

According to the final entries, 212 athletes - 111 men and 101 women - representing 25 Member Federations will be competing across the six events which make up the programme.




Sweden’s Perseus Karlstrom is defending his title in the men’s 20km race walk - and he will seek to become the first man in history to win back-to-back titles in the event - but the Spaniards will begin as the overwhelming favourites for their seventh team title.

There will also be keen interest in the progress of another Spaniard Jesus Angel Garcia in the 50km race walk. At 51, Garcia is the oldest athlete entered for Podebrady and he is seeking to secure what would be a record eighth Olympic appearance in Tokyo later this summer.

Garcia is one of the greats of this event with three victories to his name. He won the inaugural edition of this competition in 1996 - one year before his teammate Manuel Bermudez was even born - in La Coruna before back-to-back wins in 2000 and 2001.






Reigning champion Živilė Vaiciukeviciute unexpectedly retired last year although Lithuania will be represented by her twin Monika and the very experienced Brigita Virbalyte.


The Spaniards will also have excellent individual and team chances in the women’s 20km race walk courtesy of the likes of Laura Garcia-Caro and Raquel Gonzalez.


The women’s 35km race walk replaces the 50km race walk in Podebrady. Two of the continental standard bearers of the 50km race walk - Portugal’s Ines Henriques and Italy’s Eleonora Giorgi - are among the entrants.





Full entry list: click here